Governing Councils

The Sorority and Fraternity Life (SFL) Community at the University of Kansas is home to 41 sororities and fraternities and each chapter is governed by a council. A council is a group of fraternities and/or sororities that work together to support a common mission/vision. Currently, there are four councils advised by the Office of Sorority & Fraternity Life:

These organizations are grouped by affinity, history, goals, etc. Each council is overseen by a council advisor (a SFL staff member) and a team of student leaders who serve as the council executive board. Each council's executive board can be found on their individual council page. Each of our chapters belongs to a council based on a common purpose and values.

We encourage you to explore each council and what they have to offer to ensure you find your community.

Governing Councils

IFC members point and camera and show their enthusiasm at KU sporting event

KU Interfraternity Council

KU Interfraternity Council (IFC) is the representative government for all current chapters at The University of Kansas. Our purpose is to represent the various sentiments and concerns of the fraternity community to the University, its administration, and the general KU/Lawrence community while striving to promote a positive Sorority & Fraternity Life (SFL) image.
Four rows of MGC members pose together indoors

KU Multicultural Greek Council

KU Multicultural Greek Council (MGC) is the governing body for five culturally based fraternities and sororities on campus. MGC provides a safe space for underrepresented students, and intentional programming to its member organizations together. These organizations all strive to benefit the KU community through philanthropy and community service, while celebrating the diverse identities of their members.
Two smiling students stand together at an outdoor event

KU National Pan-Hellenic Council

KU National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is composed of five of the nine historically Black International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., and Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
Members of Kappa Alpha Theta pose together outside KU's Memorial Stadium

KU Panhellenic Association

KU Panhellenic Association (PHA) was founded at KU in spring of 1905 with the purpose of increasing the influence of sororities in college life, improving the relationships between the members of different chapters, and ensuring dignified methods of recruiting, pledging, and initiation. Today, our campus has 11 recognized chapters that strive for excellence in the four founding pillars of leadership, scholarship, friendship, and service.